Hit and Run Criminal Defense Attorney in Long Beach, California
It should come as no surprise that California has some of the worst traffic in the country. According to a recent California traffic report, a traffic crash is reported every 3 minutes. However, not every driver honors the legal requirements when they are involved in an accident or collision. In the immediate moments after an accident, emotions and adrenaline are at an extreme high. Sometimes emotions such as fear, anxiety, or confusion, can quickly send a driver into panic mode, and without much thinking, they give in to the desire to just drive away. The reality is that the law requires drivers to stop—and hit and run charges in California carry serious penalties.
If you or a loved one is facing charges related to fleeing the scene of an accident, you need to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. At McCready Law Group, I have the experience and understanding of the law to help defend these charges. Regardless of the circumstances of the accident, I can protect your rights and fight for the best possible results.
Hit and Run Charges in California
It is important to first note that many drivers buy into the myth that if they believe they were not responsible for the collision, they are not obligated to stop and exchange information. This is simply not true and may be a costly mistake down the line. Regardless of fault or the circumstances surrounding the accident, all drivers are required to exchange or share information when involved in any type of accident or collision.
In the state of California, there are two types of hit and run crimes: accidents or collisions that involve only property damage, and accidents or collisions that involve personal injury or death.
Property damages are serious. If a driver is involved in a minor fender bender, crashes into a parked vehicle, or causes damage to any type of property, they are required to locate and notify the owner. If the owner can not be located, drivers are required to leave a note that includes their name, contact information, and a brief description of the incident.
Personal injury or death is even more serious. When a driver is involved in any type of motor vehicle accident or collision that causes personal injury or death they are legally required to immediately stop and provide identification to the other party and any law enforcement that may be present. Drivers are also required to provide reasonable assistance to anyone who may be injured until first responders arrive. In the event that death or life-threatening injuries occur, drivers must call the police.
These hit and run charges can either be classified as a misdemeanor or felony.
Possible Penalties for a Hit and Run
Regardless of the reasons for fleeing the scene of an accident, hit and run is a serious criminal charge. Below is the general scope for possible penalties invoked with a hit-and-run conviction. It can be a misdemeanor offense.
If convicted of a misdemeanor, you could be penalized with any of the following:
Fines up to $1,000
Restitution for damaged property
2 points on California driver's license
Up to 3 years probation
Up to six months in jail
If convicted of a felony, your penalties may include:
Fines up to $10,000
State prison sentence up to 4 years.
Remember, every situation is unique and the circumstances behind the hit and run may bring additional charges that can significantly alter penalties and sentencing guidelines. Partnering with an experienced criminal defense attorney early on can be the pivotal factor that best protects your freedom before it's too late.
How an Attorney Can Help
Regardless of whether you were involved in a high-speed collision or a minor parking lot fender bender, you need experienced legal guidance to help you avoid the serious consequences of a hit and run charge. Navigating a defense on your own is risky business, and an effective defense requires expert representation that can investigate what happened, why it happened, and create the best strategy on your behalf.
Hit and Run Defense Attorney in Long Beach, California
If you or a loved one has been involved in a hit and run, it is extremely critical that you find a competent defense attorney to fight on your behalf. At McCready Law Group, I am here to review the details of your case and provide the best strategy to move forward. I personalize every case and will aggressively pursue the best outcome that minimizes the impact on your finances and freedoms. McCready Law Group serves clients in Long Beach, California, and neighboring areas of Cypress Hill and Lakewood.