In California, the Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms recovered 1,243 firearms from individuals in 2020. Years earlier in 2006, California became the first state in the country to establish a system for monitoring known firearm owners who might fall into a prohibited status category. California has some of the strictest laws in the country when it comes to firearm ownership.

If you have been charged with a crime involving a weapon, it’s important that your rights are protected. My firm—McCready Law Group—can help you understand what happens next while working to protect your rights. With my background as a law enforcement officer and more than 14 years of experience as an attorney under my belt, I’ve earned a reputation for excellence in my community. I represent clients in Long Beach, California, as well as Cypress Hill, Lakewood, and nearby areas.



Common Weapon Charges in California

Some weapon charges are more common than others in California. The penalties for different gun crimes correspond to how serious the charges are.

Assault with a firearm is one of these charges. The attempt to inflict physical injury on another person by any means, combined with an ability to carry out that intent, constitutes an assault. The penalty for assault with a firearm is at least two years and up to 12 years in jail or prison.

Another common gun crime is brandishing a weapon. If you draw a gun, wave it around, or otherwise show it in a threatening way, that could be considered brandishing. You don’t have to intend to use the weapon; just brandishing it constitutes a crime. The penalty ranges from three months to three years in jail or prison.

Gross negligent discharge of a firearm is another common weapons charge. This involves discharging a firearm or a BB gun with CO2 canisters and ball bearings in a way that might cause the injury or death of another person. It must be intentional and not accidental. It also must be extremely careless (also known as “gross” negligence) to merit this charge.

Other common charges include:

  • felony possession of a firearm

  • illegal concealed carry

  • carrying a loaded firearm in public

  • possessing a firearm in a prohibited place (such as an airport)

Drive-by shootings and shooting at an inhabited or occupied building or vehicle are two further common types of weapon charges.

Prohibited Weapons

Under California law, individuals are prohibited from owning certain firearms, including:

  • undetectable firearms

  • short-barreled shotguns and rifles

  • firearms that are not immediately recognizable as firearms

  • unconventional pistols

  • and others

It’s also important to know that there are certain types of equipment and ammunition that are prohibited. Speak with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney if you are unsure whether your firearms, equipment, or ammunition are prohibited.

Unlawful Carrying of a Loaded Weapon

Under California’s strict gun laws, you may have been charged with unlawful carrying of a loaded weapon. There are certain circumstances that must be met to merit this charge.

If you carry a gun with an unexpended bullet in the firing chamber in public or in your vehicle, you could face a weapons charge. Even if the weapon isn’t working, if it was loaded while you were carrying it in public, then that may be a gun crime. If a bullet is attached to the gun in a clip or magazine, the gun is considered loaded. Again, you could face charges for unlawful carrying of a loaded weapon in this case.

Possible Defenses

If you have been charged with a weapons crime, you have options. An experienced criminal defense lawyer can help you build your defense so that you have the strongest case possible. Your defense could be based on the fact that you did not have a prohibited weapon. If you had a weapon but it was not prohibited as defined in the California statute, then you may be able to use this defense. It’s also possible that you didn’t know that the weapon you owned was violating the law. A skilled criminal defense attorney can help you build your case on this basis. Finally, it’s entirely possible that the authorities performed an unlawful search and seizure when they found your prohibited weapon. Without a valid search warrant, the authorities cannot conduct a search or take property.


If you have been charged with criminal possession of a firearm or weapon, be certain that your rights are protected. Work with a knowledgeable weapons violations attorney to build your case. With over fourteen years of experience in California courts, I have the resources to guide you through the legal system. McCready Law Group represents clients in Long Beach, Cypress Hill, Lakewood, and nearby areas in California. Contact my firm today to schedule your consultation.

Proudly serving Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Irvine, Lakewood, Orange County, CA, and the surrounding areas, including Santa Ana and Fountain Valley. Criminal Defense and White Collar Crime Lawyer in Orange County, Domestic Violence and Manslaughter Lawyer in Orange County.