Fraud is a legal concept that involves various types of deception, but at its basic level, fraud is an illegal act to deprive someone or some entity of something of value through deceit or manipulation – in other words, through means that are not open, honest, and transparent.
Facing assault charges can be an intimidating and life-altering experience, especially if you are accused of assaulting someone years ago. If this sounds like your situation, it is crucial that you understand the statute of limitations for assault in California, as the prosecution has a limited amount of time to file charges against individuals.
In California, a person may face criminal charges for breaking the law or committing an offense. Also, there is a time limit – or statute of limitations – guiding when a charge may be brought against an alleged defendant.
In California, the statute of limitations exists for criminal cases to specify the maximum time limit that a federal or state prosecutor can bring a criminal charge against an alleged defendant. However, any claim or charge filed against the defendant after the statute of limitations runs out will be dismissed by the court.
If you’re facing a criminal charge and you’re convicted or plead guilty, the judge can consider both mitigating and aggravating factors in determining your sentence. Mitigating factors are those that might lead to a lesser sentence. Aggravating factors can lead to a harsher sentence. What are these aggravating factors?
According to the California Department of Justice (DOJ), in 2022, the violent crime rate statewide rose 6.1 percent and property crime 6.2 percent from the year before. The rates are based on how many persons were victimized for every 100,000 residents. For violent crime, the rate went from 466.2 per 100,000 in 2021 to 494.6 in 2022; for property crime, the respective rates are 2,178.4 in 2021 and 2,313.6 in 2022.
If you hosted a party at your home and, after the party, one of the guests who consumed drugs got into an accident that caused injuries to another person, you might be worried about your potential liability for the victim’s injuries.
If you are facing DUI charges in California, you need to explore the various defenses that may be available to you. One of the defenses could be the “Ambien defense.” As a DUI defense attorney at McCready Law Group, I can explain what the Ambien defense is and how effective it may be in California DUIs. I represent people facing DUI charges in Long Beach, California, and the surrounding areas, including Lakewood and Cypress Hill.
According to the most recent California SWITRS Report, about 1,187 people were killed in alcohol-related crashes statewide in 2019. In California, driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is prohibited.
According to statistics from the Crime in California Report, there were about 109,873 DUI-related arrests statewide in 2021. Although cannabis is legal for both recreational and medicinal use in California.